Slow Cooked Whole Chicken

 

Well, y’all. I am finally getting around to the recipe/kitchen menu on my blog. I didn’t forget; things have been CRAZY here with intense spring cleaning and an energetic threenager.

Anyway, I am always looking for recipes or meals that I can make multiples out of one good size meat product. I find that buying meat or poultry items whole or in a larger quantity equals money saved if I cook it right away and divide it up in multiple meal proportions. The whole chicken is actually inexpensive. I am actually fixing a six pound chicken right now that I paid six bucks for. I have cut back on buying the bags of frozen chicken breasts or thighs- nothing wrong with that, I just am experimenting with a different approach of cooking to see how that works for my family.

I am sure that some of y’all are aware of this tip I am providing, but for those of you who don’t, I learned that you can make your Slow Cooker “roast” a whole chicken. The chicken I usually buy weighs about 4-6 pounds. I remove everything from the inside of the chicken, and I don’t follow a particular recipe when it comes to seasonings. I throw whatever I find on it, such as the typical salt and pepper, thyme, poultry seasoning, rosemary, or sage.

Once, I made a citrus chicken (made the house smell great!)- I applied a little melted butter, and zested a lime, orange, and grapefruit. Then, I sliced thinly and placed on top, around, and inside the turkey. It helps if you start in the mid morning and let it slow cook all day on low. The chicken will pretty much fall off the bones. Depending on the meal I make from the whole chicken, most recipes call for roughly 1.5 cups of shredded chicken. I get around 4.5-5 cups of shredded chicken and that makes between 3-5 meals if you work it the right way. I just divide them up in small freezer bags or containers and freeze the rest. You can make casseroles, soups, or dishes with chicken as a topping (even a garden salad with chicken).

It’s all about the proportions and how you plan your meals. You can make just about anything from one chicken. I will make another post sometime next week discussing how to make the most of the meats. And, I am going to attempt to make homemade pork sausage from some ground pork I found on sale.

I am in no way a chef. I am just a gal who loves food and being in the kitchen (though dishes are another story). It is funny, though, that if I weren’t pursuing my bachelor’s in Criminal Justice to be a forensic science expert, I’d definitely be going to school to be a chef (or a writer….I am a woman with many hats!).

Leave a Reply

