European Olive Oil Review for Moms Meet

Before I begin, my review is pretty late simply because of some mishaps that happened. As a military wife, my husband received orders for us to move to another duty station. When I had applied to become selected for this great opportunity, I didn’t really think that I would be accepted since I am on the newer end of blogging and reviewing.

Well, long story short, the very day I leave my home is when my first package arrived, only to be sent back to the main FedEx office. After them not working with me, Moms Meet saved the day by fixing the situation. Phew, this move was exhausting by the way. And, the movers “lost” my washing machine…try having a toddler and a husband who goes through mountains of clothes and no washer for a month, hahaha.

Moving on to what I had waited for a chance to review. There is this campaign called Flavor Your Life and their featured product is European Extra Virgin Olive Oil. I started using olive oil (any brand) about three years ago, and loved the way it tasted and had great benefits. At the time, I never knew that olive oil brands and consistency were different, especially in the region that the olives were used to create such a flavorful experience.

When I received the package, finally, there were recipe cards, a small bottle of the olive oil, and a beautiful olive oil dish.

wp-1468624482444.jpeg

I am looking forward to trying out all these recipes since I pretty much am in the kitchen more than any other room in the house. I learned new things about the European Olive Oil in how it was made and the history of the significance of something so small yet mighty in its impact on health.

The regions of where an olive tree is grown has an impact on the richness and the taste, as a matter of fact. There are many varieties of olive oil just simply based on how and where it is grown. For it to be considered extra virgin olive oil, it is made using the cold pressed method rather than using heat or chemicals. And, to me, that makes sense because eating raw vegetables is better for you in getting the needed nutrients. So, in my thoughts, cold pressed extra virgin olive oil is “raw,” leaving the rich nutrients for us.

As I was reading further, I was impressed with the minute details they pay attention to when it comes to how olive oil is extracted- such as ensuring low or no acidity levels that would result in rancidity, low levels of peroxide values (which is the aging), and tasters from the International Oil Council taste to determine genuine fruity taste in order to consider it extra virgin. The oil I received smelled very rich in aroma and it smelled European, if that’s even possible.

Olive oil can be used in a variety of way for cooking and baking- as a cooking oil, part of a marinade, homemade vinaigrette, or as a healthy alternative to an oil in baked goods. The light olive oils would be better for baking, in my opinion, whereas darker oils are better for savory type dishes.

For example, I used the European Olive Oil in sauteing my onions for breakfast that I was adding to my family’s eggs. All I did was keep it simple- season with salt and pepper, saute the onions, and mix in scrambled eggs.

The last picture was my toddler’s plate- he is a picky eater, so I wasn’t sure if he’d eat eggs with sautéed onions. But, he LOVED it. He loved the eggs and onions together so much that he took mine off my plate when I got up from the table, haha. Best compliment ever. My husband was impressed at how great the onions tasted when cooked with olive oil. All I did was keep it simple, and it turned out great. So, olive oil used for cooking or baking shouldn’t make those who have never used it nervous. 🙂

When shopping for olive oils, it is suggested to look for the European Union PDO certification to ensure that it is genuine olive oil. From the genuine product, you can be assured that you’re receiving the full health benefits of vitamin E, polyphenols, and antioxidants. The campaign of “Flavor Your Life” hits the nail because it is “full of life.”

I hope you enjoyed my very first review with a cooking method, and I am eager to review more products and learn more so that I can share the wealth of knowledge with others. Have a great weekend, y’all!

*I received this product for free from Moms Meet (momsmeet.com), May Media Group LLC, who received it directly from the manufacturer. As a Moms Meet blogger, I agree to use this product and post my honest opinion on my blog. The opinions posted are my own.

Leave a Reply

